Day of the Dead Compilation unveils ‘Terrapin Station (Suite)’ by Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear & The National

May 20th sees the release of Day of the Dead – a Grateful Dead tribute album benefitting the Red Hot Organisation. The album was curated by Aaron and Bryce Dessner of The National and they have share a new song, ‘Terrapin Station (Suite)’, off the compilation. The track is the most musically elaborate recording on the album, featuring nearly 50 musicians.

The Grateful Dead’s ‘Terrapin Station’, found on the album bearing the same name, was the first time the Dead unveiled a more symphonic and progressive sound. For this new version the Dessners enlisted Grizzly Bear’s Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear along with members of their band The National to record their take of this iconic track for Day of the Dead. Also on hand to recreate 1977’s entire Terrapin Station were Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, Sō Percussion, and the Brooklyn Youth Chorus.

Related Articles