Pearls release double A-side singles

Melbourne’s twisted glam pop-inspired Pearls have returned with double A-side singles ‘Come See Me’ and ‘Heartbreaker’ – released via Dot Dash. Both tracks are taken from their second record due for release later in 2021.

Joining frontman Ryan Caesar and drummer Ellice BlakeneyPearls have expanded to include new members James L. PayneSam Wass & Zoe L. Hunting.

In the band’s own words ‘Come See Me’ was “written by two people who had just broken up. It’s a tug of war between rude guitars and barbarous lyrics. A spat, finished resolutely in under 3 mins.” On the other hand, ‘Heartbreaker’ is about “being left bewildered in the ashes of something you thought was going to be with you forever but ends up turning you into a stranger in the eyes of someone you loved.”

‘Come See Me’ also features in the premiere of a new ABC TV / Netflix series Why Are You Like This – tonight at 8.45PM on ABC iview and ABC TV Plus. Created by rising comedian Naomi HigginsHumyara Mahbub and Aunty Donna’s Mark Samual Bonanno, the show follows best friends as they navigate their 20s in Melbourne. ‘Big Shot’ from Pearls‘ debut album Pretend You’re Mine serves as the opening credits theme song. Watch the trailer.

Stream Pearls ‘Come See Me’

Related Articles