The xx announce new album ‘Coexist’

The xx have announced details of a new album via their Facebook page.

“We’re so excited to share with you the news that our second record ‘Coexist’ will be released on September 7th. After a long time on the road, we took a break, created our own studio and wrote these new songs that we’re so looking forward to playing to you. We will be touring throughout the summer and beyond, and hope to play somewhere near you soon. xx” The xx

Coexist has been produced by The xx’s Jamie Smith and is the follow up to their 2009 debut xx. It was recorded between November 2011 and May 2012 in the band’s own studio in London.

Coexist will be released in Australia on Friday 7 September 2012 via Young / Remote Control.

The xx are: Oliver Sim, Romy Madley Croft and Jamie Smith.

Meanwhile, following recent intimate shows in the UK and France and an appearance at Barcelona’s Primavera Sound last night, The xx are set to play shows in North America, Europe and Japan over the summer.

Related Articles