Muzz announce self-titled debut album

Muzz, the new project of Paul Banks (Interpol), Josh Kaufman (producer/multi-instrumentalist and one third of Bonny Light Horseman), and Matt Barrick (drummer of Jonathan Fire*Eater, The Walkmen, and Fleet Foxes’ touring band), have announced their self-titled, debut album, out Friday 6 June on Matador Records.

The announcement comes with new single, the widescreen, piano-led ‘Red Western Sky’, and its accompanying video, directed by the band and the first video to be shot at the American Treasure Tour Museum, a location chosen after a Barrick family visit.

‘Red Western Sky’ follows two previously released songs—the sparse and rustic ‘Broken Tambourine’, and ‘Bad Feeling’, which was uploaded anonymously to Soundcloud and chimes with melodic introspection.

Muzz was born out of longstanding friendship and collaboration. Banks and Kaufman have known each other since childhood, attending high school together in Spain before separately moving to New York. There, they independently crossed paths with Barrick while running in similar music circles. They kept in touch in the following years: Barrick drummed in Banks + Steelz and on some of Kaufman’s production sessions; Kaufman helped on Banks’ early Julian Plenti solo endeavor; various demos were collaborated on, and a studio was co-bought.

Preorder the album here.

Related Articles