The Colorist Orchestra and Emilíana Torrini announce new live album

The Colorist Orchestra & Emilíana Torrini have announced a collaborative self-titled album to be released on Friday 9th December 2016 via Rough Trade / Remote Control.

This is a live album containing nine Emiliana Torrini songs from her catalog along with two brand new songs. Seeing Emilíana and The Colorist Orchestra in concert is a truly special experience. They have a musical chemistry that is undeniable, and documenting the experience on an album was something that just had to be done. Listen to ‘Speed Of Light’ from the upcoming album below.

The Colorist Orchestra is a Belgian ensemble founded by Aarich Jespers and Kobe Proesmans in 2013. They re-envision the repertoires of established musicians from across genres using traditional classical instruments and arrangements, along with a variety of their own musical inventions to contribute innovative, never-before-heard sounds and grooves to their compositions and re-compositions.

Although The Colorist Orchestra had initially planned to “re-colour” only seven of Torrini’s songs, she was so enthralled by what she’d heard that she convinced them to work with her on fifteen of her previously-released tracks. Jespers and Proesmans pulled together a new eight-piece ensemble to create live re-envisionings of the works.

Two brand-new Emiliana Torrini songs debut on this album: ‘Nightfall,’ written by Kid Koala and Torrini; and ‘When We Dance,’ written by Jespers, Proesmans, and Torrini.

Buy / Stream The Colorist & Emiliana Torrini ‘Speed Of Light’ here.

Related Articles